Tags

, , , , ,

The most important thing in life is your health.

I hear this phrase quite often, yet I still do not know who said it first.  Regardless, it is a maxim that I strive to follow.

 

Being healthy means that I can enjoy my life to the fullest – I can go hiking with friends, I can go for long bike rides, I can wear clothes that fit well, I can indulge every now and then.  Being healthy also allows me to live independently; I am strong enough mentally to care for myself and possess enough physical fortitude to complete household tasks, like fixing drawers and hanging curtains.  I owe the quality of my life to my health.

Recently, though, I’ve taken my health for granted.  I have neither slept enough nor eaten well and I have certainly had my share of what I call “cubicle cookies,” cookies and treats coworkers bring into the office.  My exercise routine has been lacking and I’ve felt overwhelmingly exasperated lately.  I attributed most of these emotions to end of summer exhaustion.  However, when I woke up with a terrible sore throat and sinus congestion this morning, I began reconsidering my reasoning.  Perhaps I developed this cold because I have not respected my body.

Whether I am correct in this assumption or not (though I believe that I am), this bout of sickness has provided me with the motivation to get back on the healthy bandwagon.  During the next month, before I depart for my term abroad, I will nourish myself with whole foods and strengthen myself with exercise.  I know what I need to do in order to regain my health and the ability to pursue all the exciting adventures of the upcoming weeks.

Angel’s Landing Trail, Zion National Park, UT

