Tags

, ,

After a long day at work, nothing beats flopping on the sofa in front of the television.  Since I am living on campus this summer, I don’t have a sofa or a television.  Sitting on my bed and watching the Olympics on my computer just can’t compare to the homeliness of a living room.

I had forgotten how comfortable a sofa is until I went over to my friend’s house last night.  He and a group from band are renting a house off campus for the summer, which has infamously been dubbed Das Haus.  Throughout the week, they take turns cooking dinner and last night was his turn, so he invited me over to help.

We made a savory meal inspired by the Simon and Garfunkel song “Scarborough Fair” consisting of Lemon, Sage, and Garlic Roast Chicken; Roasted Baby Potatoes with Thyme and Rosemary; and a simple vinaigrette salad dressing with parsley.

Our chicken was delicious and looked like this. Click image for source.

After cleaning up, we turned on the Olympics and collapsed into their huge sofa.  In a matter of minutes, I felt my eyes drooping shut.  There’s something about a sofa and the white noise of television that puts my usually anxiety-ridden mind at ease.  I should hang out at Das more often.

