Tags

,

When I was a Brownie, we learned a song about friendship that stuck with me through the years.  The refrain was:

“Make new friends, but keep the old.  One is silver and the other’s gold.”

As I brushed my teeth last night after a fun evening cooking amazing ratatouille with my coworker and her boyfriend, I remembered this song.

I didn’t take a picture, but it looked something like this. Click image for source.

Lately, I have been spending more time with my new friends from work than with my old friends from my freshman dorm.  In some ways, my new friends and I have more in common than my old friends and I do.  My new friends come to yoga, go to farmer’s markets and festivals, trade recipes, and understand why I like to live a healthy lifestyle.  They enjoy many of the same things that I do and just seem to “get me.”  Sometimes I find myself wondering why I haven’t met these people until now.

Recently, many of my old friends have been giving me a hard time for doing the things I both want and need to do.  I prefer to go to yoga, while they want to drink themselves into a stupor.  I go to the farmer’s market, while they sleep until noon.  I need to work on weekends, while they party.  I know that friends drift apart and reunite as people enter different stages of their lives.  At this point, I guess our lives do not coincide.

But will we ever be as close as we were before?  I know that I have changed over the past two years.  While I don’t want to lose my old friends (we’ve been through a lot together), I want to spend time doing the things I enjoy with the people who make me happiest.

Somehow, I need to find balance between my old and new friends.  And between my old and new self.  Both the gold and silver in my life are valuable.

