Tags

, ,

I love the Farmer’s Market!

Image

This morning, after a refreshing Power Yoga class, I met my friend downtown for a trip to the Farmer’s Market.  As aspiring foodies, we have an absurd amount of fun shopping for fresh produce and experimenting with interesting ingredients in the kitchen.  Last week, we tried pattypan squash for the first time!  The squash had a pleasant, almost nutty flavor, which went great in our stir-fry.

Image

While we browsed the stalls, a local band played and kids danced spastically; older couples heckled with vendors and young couples shared bites of sweet crepes.  The Saturday market is less well known than the much larger Sunday one.  It has fewer vendors, but more community, in my opinion.

Image

Sometimes, when I am at community events, like the Farmer’s Market, I find myself becoming impatient.  I want to be a real part of this community, not a transient college student.  All those young couples with their families seem to have the perfect lives.  They live in a beautiful and affluent area; they go to Farmer’s Markets and have fully stocked kitchens to cook in.  I want to be like them and get to that quintessential point in my own life right now.

But, I also don’t want to wish my life away.  My faculty advisor told me that when he was in college, he couldn’t wait to start living in the real world.  He wanted to be out there, on his own, independent from the restraints of family and university.  As he struggled with schoolwork, he thought that nothing could be more difficult than this point in his life; he wanted to rush to the freedom that a university diploma would bring.  But then, when the real world started bearing down, he realized that at no point are we free from struggle; our difficulties just vary with age and circumstance.

Instead of looking at those around me and lusting over what comes next, I should just enjoy what is right in front of me.  This morning, it was a beautifully orange apricot that I popped right in my mouth as I meandered through the farmers market on a balmy summer morning.

Although, I have to say, I am looking forward to using my fresh eggplant in tonight’s dinner …

